Appendix Table 1: Country-level GBD location hierarchy	
Central Europe, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia	
Central Asia	
Armenia	
Azerbaijan	
Georgia	
Kazakhstan	
Kyrgyzstan	
Mongolia	
Tajikistan	
Turkmenistan	
Uzbekistan	
Central Europe	
Albania	
Bosnia and Herzegovina	
Bulgaria	
Croatia	
Czech Republic	
Hungary	
Macedonia	
Montenegro	
Poland	
Romania	
Serbia	
Slovakia	

Slovenia	
Eastern Europe	
Belarus	
Estonia	
Latvia	
Lithuania	
Moldova	
Russia	
Ukraine	
High-income	
Australasia	
Australia	
New Zealand	
High-income Asia-Pacific	
Brunei	
Japan	
South Korea	
Singapore	
High-income North America	
Canada	
Greenland	
USA	
Southern Latin America	
Argentina	
Chile	

Uruguay
Western Europe
Andorra
Austria
Belgium
Cyprus
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany
Greece
Iceland
Ireland
Israel
Italy
Luxembourg
Malta
Netherlands
Norway
Portugal
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
United Kingdom
Latin America and Caribbean

Andean Latin America
Bolivia
Ecuador
Peru
Caribbean
Antigua and Barbuda
The Bahamas
Barbados
Belize
Bermuda
Cuba
Dominica
Dominican Republic
Grenada
Guyana
Haiti
Jamaica
Puerto Rico
Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Suriname
Trinidad and Tobago
Virgin Islands
Central Latin America
Colombia

Costa Rica	
El Salvador	
Guatemala	
Honduras	
Mexico	
Nicaragua	
Panama	
Venezuela	
Tropical Latin America	
Brazil	
Paraguay	
North Africa and Middle East	
North Africa and Middle East	
Afghanistan	
Algeria	
Bahrain	
Egypt	
Iran	
Iraq	
Jordan	
Kuwait	
Lebanon	
Libya	
Могоссо	
Palestine	

Oman
Qatar
Saudi Arabia
Sudan
Syria
Tunisia
Turkey
United Arab Emirates
Yemen
South Asia
South Asia
Bangladesh
Bhutan
India
Nepal
Pakistan
Southeast Asia, East Asia, and Oceania
East Asia
China
North Korea
Taiwan (Province of China)
Oceania
American Samoa
Federated States of Micronesia
Fiji

Central sub-Saharan Africa	
Sub-Saharan Africa	
Vietnam	
Timor-Leste	
Thailand	
Seychelles	
Sri Lanka	
Philippines	
Myanmar	
Mauritius	
Maldives	
Malaysia	
Laos	
Indonesia	
Cambodia	
Southeast Asia	
Vanuatu	
Tonga	
Solomon Islands	
Samoa	
Papua New Guinea	
Northern Mariana Islands	
Marshall Islands	
Kiribati	
Guam	

Angola
Central African Republic
Congo (Brazzaville)
DR Congo
Equatorial Guinea
Gabon
Eastern sub-Saharan Africa
Burundi
Comoros
Djibouti
Eritrea
Ethiopia
Кепуа
Madagascar
Malawi
Mozambique
Rwanda
Somalia
South Sudan
Tanzania
Uganda
Zambia
Southern sub-Saharan Africa
Botswana
Lesotho

Namibia	
South Africa	
Swaziland	
Zimbabwe	
Western sub-Saharan Africa	
Benin	
Burkina Faso	
Cameroon	
Cape Verde	
Chad	
Cote d'Ivoire	
The Gambia	
Ghana	
Guinea	
Guinea-Bissau	
Liberia	
Mali	
Mauritania	
Niger	
Nigeria	
Sao Tome and Principe	
Senegal	
Sierra Leone	
Тодо	